my shoes are soaked :)

Let’s face it. Sometimes we just have really really bad days.
That was today for me. Today goes on the list of days that I’d like a do-over. Today was one of those cloudy days, and the weather seemed to fit right in. The kind of day where nothing seemed to really go the way I thought it would at all, like not even a little bit.  Just to be real and top the whole day off, the day ended with a mile walk in the pouring rain from the Overflow parking lot back to my dorm. 🙂 my shoes are still soaked. If that tells you anything.

At the end of today, I had 3 choices: I could let today define me, destroy me, or strengthen me. I did not want today to define me and I sure didn’t want it to destroy me. I needed today to strengthen me. Instead of thinking about how sucky my day was, I decided to think about how blessed I am to be at the place in my life, that I’m at. Just because of one bad day, it doesn’t mean my entire life is bad. It doesn’t mean I’m not going to make it. It doesn’t mean the world is going to end. It means, life happens. But, I am going to make it. Just like in Romans 8, when Paul talks about how what we suffer now here on earth is nothing compared to the glory that God will reveal to us later. We can’t always see where the road leads, but God promises there’s something better up ahead we just have to trust Him.

Life has a way of testing our anchors and tempting us to drift. BUT, if our anchors are correctly placed in the rock of our redeemer, they will hold NO matter the force of the wind, the strength of the tide, or the height of the waves. When our lives are founded securely in Christ, He holds us. Christ not only holds us, but He holds our future too. Faith tells us that no matter what lies ahead, God is already there. In Isaiah 66, Isaiah talks about how the Lord will not cause pain without something new to be born.  God never promised us it’d be easy. He never said that we would get to live in a world with no bad days. He never promised us, it would be easy. In Isaiah 43, Isaiah says that when we go through deep waters, The Lord will be with us. He promised us that we would never have to walk alone through the journey. It’s easy to get caught up in the bad day though. Satan is so incredibly good at making us feel hopeless and alone just after one day. But, that’s not where the story ends. The story continues with the power of the King helping us, and guiding our steps.The storms of life are going to come, and the road ahead might get really really really steep but God is still good. The storms of life just help us build stronger, deeper roots in the ground, and in the Lord.

Even though, today did stink. God still rocks. He’s still in control and He is still on the throne. And just being reminded of that promise, can turn your whole day around.

One thought on “my shoes are soaked :)

  1. We are so very blessed to have you in our lives. You have such strength and determination. From the moment you were born and sleeping on the kitchen table, I knew that about you. You never run from the bumps and bruises of life. As you well know, the Bible is our best resource for the stumbling blocks along the highway. Bet the Sonlight will soon dry those shoes!!!!!!

Leave a comment